A Day in the Life

Occasionally, folks ask me what my normal schedule looks like. If you are familiar with ministry work, you know this can be a real challenge; what is ‘normal?’ As much as I like to plan out my week(s), I know it can all change with one phone call. So here is a behind the scenes look at a typical week in the life of this pastor…

Monday: Many ministry leaders take Mondays off; I’m too jacked from Sunday to walk away that quickly. I need Monday to respond to emails, requests, concerns, complaints, etc. that surfaced on Sunday. I read and study the text for next week’s sermon and let it start percolating…The rest of the day is spent weeding the mountain of mail, books, and clearing the clutter. Calendar is reviewed, updated and prioritized, and it’s a wrap!

Tuesday: Off. Period. No exceptions, no excuses, no ‘let me just make this one phone call.’

Wednesday: Study day/sermon prep. I love Wednesdays. Total immersion. Wednesday nights are reserved for our children’s ministry and committee meetings.

Thursday: Fun morning with office staff, planning for Sunday’s service, reviewing bulletin, planning communications, etc. Afternoons are open for visiting folks, further study, and meetings.

Friday: Wrap-up for Sunday, a ‘do we have all our ducks in a row’ morning. Phone calls, cards, emails sent out. Walk-through of the church (every room, every week. I’m weird like that). Occasional home visits…

Most of you know that I’m pretty dialed in when it comes to social media. I enjoy it, I embrace it, I use it. I consider it just one more tool we can use to communicate with each other, and also to communicate what’s going on around the church. Here’s how it works for me:

I’m an early riser, so I have my study and prayer time before the rooster crows. So my first hour or so in the office each day is spent catching up on media; I use Google reader as an aggregate for my feeds. This saves me a ton of time, as I just scan the headlines and read only what looks interesting. I then write and schedule my FB and Twitter updates (most of them, using HootSuite) for later in the day, and get busy!

I try to work simply and efficiently, and front-load my week; you never know what’s going to happen later on, and I really don’t want to be working on a sermon during the ballgame on Saturday night!

This works for me. What works for you?

About pastoroftheprez

Pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Kings Mountain, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

