3 Things I Learned From Our Church This Weekend

Well, it’s been awhile…Took some time off to concentrate on some school studies (I thought that would be a good idea, since I’m paying for these classes!), but wanted to share a couple things from church-land.

1. Now that I’ve been here a few months, I’m starting to see what an amazing, talented, and diverse congregation I serve. The talents, backgrounds, experiences, etc. that make us all so special are on full display in this place! When we understand that God is in control, is totally sovereign, and loves us, we can better understand and have confidence in the fact that IT IS ALL GOOD! We have pains, we have disappointments, we have heartbreaks, but in the big picture that God is painting, IT IS ALL GOOD! And it is exciting to see what God is going to do with committed believers…

2. I am so proud of one of our young folks, who volunteered to read Scripture during the worship service on Sunday; this was a huge step in her life, and she knocked it out of the park! I am certain God will bless her faithfulness and bravery…she was totally petrified, but God saw her through, and she inspired others (young and old) to take bold steps of faith! If she can so what she did, surely you can do what God is nudging you to do! Stand up! Take the first step! We’re with you! But more importantly, God is with you! “If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31)

3. God is teaching me patience. I get so excited when I start talking about church and church growth and discipleship and ministries and needs and…well, you get the idea. God is pressing me to keep refining and defining what it is that I am all about. Because here’s the deal: I can’t lead this church, or any church (or group, organization, etc.) until I can clearly and succinctly share my vision for ministry. I can’t lead somewhere until I can clearly see the destination. But by God’s grace, it’s becoming clearer week by week.

3.5.  I love this church! Prepare for takeoff!!

About pastoroftheprez

Pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Kings Mountain, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

