I Am So Awesome

 

kingthrone

No, really. I am. Let me count the ways my awesomeness dwarfs your un-awesomeness. I hope you have a pen and paper ready; take copious notes for later study. Ready?

I hope the person that influences you (pastor, boss, mentor, etc.) is not like that; what a tragedy to live a life of self-absorption, only to find out that it was all for naught.

But what about you? What kind of leader are you when it comes to influence?

Craig Groeschel, at Catalyst 2012, identified 3 levels of influence, and it’s important to  understand where we fall in his scheme.

1. I want to make a name for myself. At this level you have to think that you are good enough to do this. Danger, Will Robinson, danger!! I think I remember something in the Bible about pride and destruction, but I could be mistaken (see how I did the humility dance there?). 

2. I want to make a difference in the world. This is a big step up that recognizes you can’t do it on your own. There is more than likely a shift to teamwork, acknowledging that you are not the best (a little pride reduction probably happened, and that’s a good thing!)

3. I want to make history for the glory of God. Now we’re getting somewhere. This is where you finally realize it is not about us (you, me) and you realize that God can use you to do something amazing, and where transformation happens in the lives of the broken and hungry.

As I often have to remind myself (yes, pride sneaks in often, reminding me how awesome I really am. Have I told you how much better I am than you? Let’s get together so I can point out your inadequacies)…

We are not here to make a name; we are here to glorify a name!

About pastoroftheprez

Pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Kings Mountain, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

