Notes From The Hill

pg-13

Random thoughts from my perch on the hill

Can I just say I love Pleasant Hill?

002

Good things are happening on The Hill. A sweet spirit is present in our worship, and God is working in this place. We have a long way to go (and always will), but at least we’re on the move!

An overhaul and upgrade to our audio/video capabilities is in process, and that’s exciting. Within a few weeks, we’ll be able to utilize video in our teaching and preaching, along with  a completely replaced sound system. Thank you to the deacons and leadership for their forward thinking and support.

Continue to pray for the citizens of Boston, MA and West, TX. They have witnessed unspeakable tragedies, and will have to process these events for many months and years. We were also touched deeply by those who entered the fray in both places, unaware of what was to come. Those in Boston had no idea if more bombs were placed, and the first responders to the fire in TX had no idea an explosion of that magnitude was imminent. So brave, so heroic. May God bless them.

Our current sermon series is focused on living a life of no regrets: no more woulda, coulda, shouldas. I’ve posted this short video before, but in case you missed it…

Most of our regrets in life will be about things we DIDN’T do. Opportunities lost.

 

I was challenged by a fellow blogger to delete all time-killer apps from my phone. You know, the ones that you don’t really need, but find yourself using out of boredom/habit/nervousness. So I deleted most of my apps, since I wasn’t really using them. It’s kind of like the old saying with clothing: if you haven’t worn something in a year, give it the heave-ho. Here’s what my phone looks like now:

002003

That’s it. 17 apps (above and beyond the factory ones). When in doubt, throw it out.

Which reminds me…I’m having the Great American Book Giveaway! In my continuing effort to simplify, I am purging my office shelves of 90% of my books. Want some? Come by my office (for some of you, that may not be very practical. Sorry!) and take your pick. Or picks. Books are no good if they’re not being read.

Have I mentioned how grateful I am to be the pastor of an amazing church?

Pleasant Hill Baptist Church was founded in 1851. What else happened in 1851? I’m glad you asked:

  • Moby Dick, by Herman Melville, was published.
  • Yosemite Valley was discovered in California.
  • The Great Fire of San Francisco.
  • Sojourner Truth addressed 1st Black Women’s Rights Convention (Akron).
  • 1st US alcohol prohibition law enacted (Maine).
  • 1st baseball uniforms worn, NY Knickerbockers wear straw hat, white shirt & blue long trousers

By God’s grace, we’ve been around a long time. We should be humbled by the long line of faithful servants who have preceded us. It is on their shoulders we stand.

April is almost gone, which means we are 1/3 of the way through 2013. How is your Bible reading plan going?!? (You thought I forgot about that, didn’t you?) Are you staying on track? Here, again, is what I use: You can subscribe via email or RSS feed here.

SchoolOff the Bookshelf: Gospel of Freedom: Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Letter From Birmingham Jail and the Struggle That Changed a Nation, by Jonathan Rieder. This is the best study I’ve read of the back story of the civil rights movement, and how it manifested itself in the writings of King. Spectacular.

001

And lastly…a reminder that when life gets tough, throw on your overall shorts and take a walk. It can’t hurt.

dora

And Peace. Pastor Greg

About pastoroftheprez

Pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Kings Mountain, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

