What Miranda Lambert Taught Me On Our Walk Together

pg-13

I spent a recent lunch hour walking a local trail.*  As I can’t go very long without music, I grabbed my headphones and hit the trail.

That’s when Miranda Lambert showed up.

Her song “Mama’s Broken Heart” came on; it’s a bouncy little ditty, and I was touched (yes, touched, so shoot me) by the following lines, presumably uttered by a mother to her distraught, out-of-control daughter:

I can hear her now sayin she ain’t gonna have it

Don’t matter how you feel, it only matters how you look

Go & fix your make up, girl it’s just a break up,

Run & hide your crazy & start actin like a lady

Cause i raised you better, gotta keep it together

Even when you fall apart…

 

I know you  have a couple questions:

1. When did you start listening to Miranda Lambert?

2. When did you start worrying about acting like a lady?

Okay, SpongeBob QuestionPants….

1. Ms. (Mrs.? I don’t know anything about this woman) Lambert showed up randomly on my music service**. As far as I know, I’ve never heard a Miranda Lambert song before.

2. I’m not overly concerned with acting like a lady.

 

But to my point…the above lyrics raised a couple (more important) questions:

 

Why are we so concerned with what everyone else thinks?

Why are we so concerned with letting people know how we really feel?

shame

I have no problem with decorum and respect and order. But when we toe the societal line, do we lose our unique voice? Simply put, are we being ourselves?

We are all unique, ‘fearfully and wonderfully made.’ Some of us handle stress better than others (and when we say ‘better,’ aren’t we once again judging against a societal norm? Who says what is ‘better?’). Some of us say things that others may not say (in sermons, even!). Some of us are really struggling with life, yet we hide our crazy and act like ladies.

Some of us have lived our entire lives behind a mask, concerned how we look to the world.

Some of us suffer in silence, hiding our personal ‘crazy.’

Mercy sakes, that is so stressful.

You are who you are. I am who I am. I love you, and I love me.

Let’s just be ourselves.

You don’t have to hide your crazy any more. I’m not hiding mine.

 

As a bonus for reading this far, I give you my BFF Miranda:

Ain’t that a catchy little tune?

 

*Kudos to the City of Kings Mountain, NC for their Gateway Trail. It’s awesome. There are a number of different routes you can take, depending on your time and/or physical endurance.

**Check out Slacker @ www.slacker.com.  Another fun free/pay music site. Pandora is still my default station, but I’ve created a couple fun stations on Slacker. I can’t help it; I have an illness.

Peace. Pastor Greg

About pastoroftheprez

Pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Kings Mountain, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

